What is the Cerema ?

publié le 24 septembre 2015

Fields of action of Cerema

The Cerema is a centre for scientific resources, expertise and interdisciplinary techniques providing support for State services and local authorities.

It is distinguished by having strong regional roots and its ability to make the link between central government, State decentralized services, local authorities and all those who contribute to implementing public policies in each of its nine fields of action :

- planning, development and equality of regions
- energy transition and climate change
- management of natural resources and the environment
- risk prevention
- well-being and reducing pollution
- towns and urban strategies
- mobility and transport
- housing and buildings
- management, optimization, modernization and design. of infrastructure.

The establishment is under supervision from both the ministry of ecology, sustainable development and energy, and the ministry of housing, regional equality and rurality. It develops close relationships with local authorities which sit jointly on the Cerema Board of Directors and the Strategic Council : together they participate in the preparation of its annual activity programme.

Creation of Cerema

On January 1st 2014, 11 centres, namely the 8 CETEs, the Certu, the Cetmef and the Sétra merged to form the Cerema.
Placed under the joint supervision of the Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy and the Ministry of Housing, Territorial Equality and Rural Affairs, the Cerema is a resource centre for scientific
and technical expertise, in support of the definition, implementation and evaluation of public policies, carried by national and local authorities.

Download the Cerema leaflet here